Lecture and Launch of the 13th NEIL GUNN Writing Competition

One Touch Theatre, Eden Court, INVERNESS
Thursday 11th September 2014

The Neil Gunn Trust will be launching the 13th Neil Gunn Writing Competition on Thursday 11 September 2014 in the OneTouch Theatre in Eden Court, Inverness. James Robertson, one of Scotland's leading authors, will be giving this year's Neil Gunn Lecture. Towards the end of the evening James has agreed to Launch the Competition. He has acted as the Lead Judge for a previous competition and I've no doubt will inspire the audience to put pen to paper or fingers to the keyboard. Details of the Competition, including entry forms, rules and the Themes, can be found at www.highlifehighland.com/neilgunn.

The Neil Gunn Writing Competition consists of four sections - Adult Poetry, Adult Short Story, Secondary Schools (S3-S6) and Primary Schools (P5-P7). The two adult sections are open to anyone worldwide who can write in Scots or English, whereas the two schools sections are only open to schools in the Highland Region.

The photographs below are of the winners of the 2012-2013 Competition.

Adult Winners Photo

2012-13 Adult Prize Winners

Back Row - Lynsey Stein, Graham Mackenzie, Charlotte Macarthur, Joyce Watson, Ian Murray, Rhoda Michael, Ann Yule, Frances Hurd, Jacqueline Liuba
Front Row - Merryn Glover, Kenneth Stephen, Andrew Broadfoot, Jackie Kay, Jim Waite, Fiona Lang, Mary Spence

Secondary Winners Photo

2012-13 Secondary School Prize Winners

Back Row - Grace Claxton, Eden Forbes, Daniel Goldthrope, Bethany Lang, Alfred Gudgeon
Front Row - Sarah Ashburn, Charlotte Macarthur, Ann Yule (Convenor) Molly Todd

Primary Winners Photo

2012-13 Primary Winners

Back Row - Joe Crook, Kirsty Marsh, Lara MacLeman, Maisy Richards, Logan Mackay
Front Row - Chloe Fea, Joyce Watson, Ann Yule (NGT Convenor), Robbie Williamson